Sunday, February 1, 2009

to vege or not to vege?

confused about the mystical life of vegetarians? here's a rough guide.

VEGETARIAN: Overall term for people who live on a diet of grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, fruit and vegetables, with or without eggs and dairy products. Does not eat any meat, poultry, fish, or shellfish.

LACTO-OVO-VEGETARIAN: Most common type of vegetarian, who eats eggs and dairy products.

VEGAN: Does not eat dairy products, eggs or any other animal product.


LACTO-VEGETARIAN: Eats Dairy products

PESCO-VEGETARIAN: Eats fish and non-mammalian seafood but does not eat any other meats.

POLLO-VEGETARIAN: Eats poultry but does not eat red meats such as beef and lamb.

FLEXTARIAN: Eats mainly vegetarian food but will eat animal meant occasionally for cultural, social and nutritional reasons. <~this is me

Source: July27, 2008 thesundaytimes

P/S:Buddhist Vegetarians are forbidden to consume the five pungents (onions, chives, leeks, shallots and garlic), hence please omitted these ingredients in the recipes.

No comments: